Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I refile the tax after i got the teax review letter from cra?also do i need to register a BN since I am a contractor of a music school.tahnks

3 Replies

Can I refile the tax after i got the teax review letter from cra?also do i need to register a BN since I am a contractor of a music school.tahnks

You may not be able to simply "ReFile" your return if CRA was reviewing it. It depends if your review is complete or not, and what exactly was being reviewed. The CRA conducts a number of different types of reviews annually in which the taxpayer must submit some type of documentation to back up or substantiate a credit or deduction they have claimed. 

When you receive a letter requesting more information or receipts, you usually must respond to that letter within 30 days or request an extension that allows you to gather your information. You can submit your documents via mail, fax, or sign in to your CRA My Account and upload any scanned documents.  Quite often CRA does not receive your documentation in time and they will reassess your tax return and disallow the credit.

When this happens, you need to contact them directly. It's best to contact them via the phone number on the review letter you received. If you do not have this number, contact CRA General Enquiries: 1-800-959-8281. It's important that you use the Case/Reference Number from the original letter you received, and if you submitted your documents online you should have a Confirmation Number showing your submission was successful.

You should always receive a letter or Notice of Reassessment in regards to your review showing it is complete.