Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
andresn9

How do I claim tuition from a T2202A if my employer reimbursed half of it? Do I still say I was a part-time student for those months?

The T2202A shows the total tuition paid, including the portion reimbursed by my employer.  I can't find any place to indicate that part of the tuition was reimbursed.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

How do I claim tuition from a T2202A if my employer reimbursed half of it? Do I still say I was a part-time student for those months?

You would enter your T2202A as is. Your employer should have added the reimbursement to your T4 (likely in box 40), and you would fill the amount on the T4 page. If your employer didn’t add the amount to your T4, you may want to speak to your employer about giving you an amended T4. If this is not possible, you can report this as other employment income.

• Click on “Income”, then in the “Other Income Sources” sub menu, select “Income Not Reported On A T-slip”. This will bring you to the “Employment Status” page.

• Check off “Received tips, gratuities, occasional earnings, or other employment income” at the top and click on the “Continue” button. This will bring you to the “Other Employment Income Sources” page.

• You can now put your amount in the top box, or the bottom box if you want to specify an employer or add a description. C lick on the “Continue” button to save your information.

• You can also use the “Find” tool in the blue bar on the top right corner. Click “Find” and search for “Income Not”, then select “Income Not Reported On A T-slip” from the list and click on the “Go” button.

View solution in original post

3 Replies