Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
glenblatz

Industry Code Error

Turbo Tax will not let me net file because the industry code error... the code is the one the program gave me and is the same one I used last year... why would this be happening? and how do is it corrected?  

21 Replies
rubyday4

Industry Code Error

FOLLOWING. I am having the same issue with the industry code I have been using for several years.

Industry Code Error

You can search for your Industry code on this Stats Canada webpage: https://www23.statcan.gc.ca/imdb/p3VD.pl?Function=getVD&TVD=1369825

The codes are updated every few years and were most recently updated in 2022. So, if your code is not working, it may have changed.

ar97
Returning Member

Industry Code Error

Will the current industry codes for 2022 work to netfile a 2018 return (use https://www23.statcan.gc.ca/imdb/p3VD.pl?Function=getVD&TVD=1369825)?

Industry Code Error

The codes are updated every few years and were most recently updated in 2022. These are the codes being used now as other previous codes will no longer work.

Thank you for choosing TurboTax.

Industry Code Error

The Turbo Tax software for 2022 is malfunctioning. I have used the same industry code for 20 years . . . maybe they changed it this year. I looked it up . ..  possible. I enter a bunch of different ones . I enter a whole bunch of different ones and still TT gives me an error.

between the old information on google and the total lack of information from our incompetent government  I can't file without it . . . Never NEVER ever had this problem before . . .. I file tax returns for my whole family . .. same industry code  . . . but no in 2022 it's an error????? what gives?

NOT happy!!!!