TurboTax FAQ
TurboTax FAQ
220 people found this useful

How do I delete a return in the online version of TurboTax?

If you’re using the online edition of TurboTax, it is possible to delete a return that hasn’t been filed; returns that have been filed (either via NETFILE or printed-to-mail) cannot be deleted.

Note that when you delete a return, you will not be able to access it again and we will not be able to retrieve the information for you.  

1. Sign in to TurboTax Online for the tax year of the return you’d like to delete.
2. On the “Great to see you again!” page, locate the return.

The steps below outline how to delete a return, depending on whether you have one or more in your account.

 

If you have one return in your account

To help make sure users don’t accidentally delete a return they’re working on, TurboTax prevents users from deleting their most recent “active” return. To get around this, you’ll need to create a blank return. This way, the blank return will be your most recent active return, and the return you want to delete will become inactive.

3. On the “Great to see you again!” page displaying your tax return, scroll down to Start a new return and select Continue (in the 2018 version, you also have the option to select Start a new return from the menu in the top-left).
4. On the subsequent page, select the Standard edition.

  • In the current 2018 version: Then select Start.
  • In prior-year versions: Then select Continue.

5. You will be prompted to enter your personal information, which you don’t have to do. Instead:

  • In the current 2018 version: Select My Account & Returns from the left navigation bar, and then select View all tax returns from the menu options that appear.
  • In prior-year versions: At the top of your screen, select Tools and then select Return Manager from the options that appear.

6. Now that you are on the page that displays your tax returns, you will see two returns: the blank return you just created, and the return you want to delete. Locate the return you want to delete and select its corresponding trash can icon.
7. When prompted to confirm the deletion, select Delete.

If you have multiple returns in your account

If the return you want to delete has a trash can beside it:

3. Select the trash can icon.
4. When prompted to confirm the deletion, select Delete to delete the return.

If the return you want to delete does not have a trash can beside it:

TurboTax prevents users from deleting their most recent “active” return to help make sure users don’t accidentally delete a return they want to keep. To get around this, you will need to open and then close another one of your returns. This will render the return you want to delete “inactive.”

5. Choose another return in your account and select Continue to open the return.
6. Head back to the page that displays all your tax returns:

  • In the current 2018 version: Select My Account & Returns from the left navigation bar, and then select View all tax returns from the menu options that appear.
  • In prior-year versions: At the top of your screen, select Tools and then select Return Manager from the options that appear.

7. This will close the return and bring you back to the page that displays all your tax returns. Now the return you just opened will be featured at the top as your active return and the return you want to delete will display a corresponding trash can icon. Select the trash can icon to delete the return.
8. When prompted to confirm the deletion, select Delete to delete the return.

 

 

Related information


INF19984
p_cg_tto_us_lc_na_question:L9ds4Nryf_CA_en_CA