Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mail8

Where must I declare my foreign business income which was won after I had moved from Canada permanently?

I’m a German citizen who resided in Canada for most of 2016 (January through July). I worked as a self-employed contractor. While in Canada from January through July, 2016, I had business income from my work as a self-employed contractor. Then, end of July, 2016, I permanently moved back to Germany. For the remainder of 2016, I worked in Germany as a self-employed contractor and thus had business income from this. I have not been back to Canada since.
As far as I understand, I have to input my German business income onto the form "Your residency" under "Income from Foreign sources, plus Canadian sourced Part XIII income, for the part of the year when you were not a resident of Canada.” I have done this.
My question is: where else must I declare my German business income (which, again, was won once I had moved from Canada and was once again a resident of Germany)?
Specifically, in your section titled “Income & work related expenses,” there is the question “Did you have other income that you have not yet told us about? Examples include scholastic, foreign, disability, alimony, child support, death benefits, and working income tax benefit payments.” I answered this with YES and checked the box "Foreign - Income from outside of Canada” underneath.