TurboTax HelpTurboTax HelpIntuit

How do I delete a return in TurboTax Online?

SOLVEDby TurboTax351Updated February 01, 2022

If you’re using the online edition of TurboTax, it's possible to delete a return that hasn’t been filed. Returns that have already been filed (either by NETFILE or printed to mail) can't be deleted.

Note that when you delete a return, you won't be able to access it again and we won't be able to retrieve the information for you.

  1. Sign in to TurboTax Online for the tax year of the return you’d like to delete
  2. On the Great to see you again! screen, locate the return

The steps below outline how to delete a return, depending on whether you have one or more in your account:

To ensure users don’t accidentally delete a return they’re working on, TurboTax prevents you from deleting your most recent “active” return. You can get around this by creating a blank return. The blank return will then be your most recent active return, and the return you want to delete will become inactive.

  1. On the Great to see you again! screen displaying your tax return, select Start a new return from the navigation bar
  2. On the next screen, select the Free edition. Answer the question How did you do your taxes last year? and select Continue
  3. Select My Returns from the navigation bar, then select View all tax returns
    • In the 2018 version, select My Account & Returns, then View all tax returns
    • In prior-year versions, select Tools, then Return Manager
  4. On the screen that displays your tax returns, you'll see two returns: the blank return you just created, and the return you want to delete. Locate the return you want to delete and select its corresponding trash can icon
  5. When prompted to confirm the deletion, select Delete

If the return you want to delete has a trash can beside it:

  1. Select the trash can icon
  2. When prompted to confirm the deletion, select Delete

If the return you want to delete doesn't have a trash can beside it:

To ensure users don’t accidentally delete a return they’re working on, TurboTax prevents you from deleting your most recent “active” return. You can get around this by opening and then closing another one of your returns. The return you want to delete will then become inactive.

  1. Choose another return in your account and select Continue to open the return
  2. Select My Returns from the navigation bar, then select View all tax returns
    • In the 2018 version, select My Account & Returns, then View all tax returns
    • In prior-year versions, select Tools, then Return Manager
  3. This will close the return and bring you back to the screen that displays all your tax returns. The return you just opened will be featured as your active return, and the return you want to delete will display a corresponding trash can icon. Select the trash can icon to delete the return
  4. When prompted to confirm the deletion, select Delete

Related information

How do I log in to my TurboTax Online account?

How do I delete info I’ve entered into TurboTax Online?

How do I delete info I’ve entered into TurboTax CD/Download?

TurboTax Mobile Apps FreeTurboTax Mobile Apps Home and BusinessTurboTax Mobile Apps PremierTurboTax Mobile Apps Self-employedTurboTax Mobile Apps StandardTurboTax Online FreeTurboTax Online Home and BusinessTurboTax Online PremierTurboTax Online Self-employedTurboTax Online Standard

More like this

Dynamic AdsDynamic Ads