Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mcsang

How do I link a T4A to my existing small business?

I already have an on-going small business history in Turbo Tax carrying forward from previous years. Now the company for whom I am an Independent Consultant earning commissions only is issuing a T4A.  How do I link the amount I entered in Easy Step as T4A Box 20 to the existing info in the Business Summary (from previous years)?

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Income reported in box 20 of a T4A will report as commission income and claimed on the self-employment schedule for a commission based enterprise. You will need to create the Commission Business Schedule and claim expense against this income.

View solution in original post

martina7

I had the same problem, but I just had to move my T4A income from the Box 48 labelled "Professional Fees" to the Box 48 labelled "Business Fees". Then the T4A income linked to my existing business.

View solution in original post

8 Replies

Income reported in box 20 of a T4A will report as commission income and claimed on the self-employment schedule for a commission based enterprise. You will need to create the Commission Business Schedule and claim expense against this income.

mcsang

Thanks for your reply Terry.  I have been reporting this commission on the Business Schedule for several years.  What is new is that the company started issuing T4A in 2016.  When I enter this amount in the income field as a T4A, then it pulls thru to the Business Summary and appears like another business, but I already have my business there because I did a Carry Forward of my return from previous year. So it looks like 2 businesses.  I'd like to know how to link the two.