Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NJ/NY K1 capital gain state allocation

I am an NJ resident and New York Nonresident. I received a K1 from an NY partnership where I am a passive (don't actively participate in the business) LP with a capital gain. 

I only received an NJK-1 and did NOT receive a  New York K-1. 

Do I need to allocate the capital gain within Turbotax to New York since the partnership is an NY partnership?

Do passive partnership capital gains count as "NY partnership gain" or as "other income from intangible personal property"?

Relevant tax info:

NY state tax is confusing to me as it has the following:

NY counts source income for nonresidents for: "your distributive share of New York State partnership income or gain;"

NY does NOT count source income for nonresidents for: "interest, dividends, or other income from intangible personal property, or gains from the sale or exchange of intangible personal property, unless the intangible personal property is employed in a business, trade, profession, or occupation in New York State;"

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
JosephS1
Expert Alumni

Unfortunately, the answer as to whether or not you have to file a NY Non-Resident Return (Form IT-203) is "it depends".  If the K-1 indicates the income that is passing through to you is all passive income then you would not have to file a NY return.  If the K-1 indicates the income is not passive, even though you may be a passive partner, you may have to file a NY return.