Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Allocate New York State adjustments

In 2023, I was a part-year Yonkers resident. When preparing the NY state return I came to a screen titled "Allocate New York State Adjustments". The text says: "Because your residence changed during 2023 you must allocate your New York State adjustments of $X based on the time you spent as a resident of New York City or Yonkers... Your New York State Adjustments below must equal $X." This number doesn't look familiar to me. Where can I find out how this number was calculated?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LenaH
Employee Tax Expert

The 13,587 is the California state income tax withheld on your W-2 and should not be entered as an adjustment on your NYS return. It was populating as a PTET (pass through entity tax) adjustment because 13,587 was entered as taxes paid by an entity in the New York screens. 

Please take the following steps to remove this and correct your return:

1. Enter your New York State return.
  2. Continue through your return until you see the screen, Take a look at New York credit and taxes.
  3. Click Start next to Taxes Paid to Another State.
  4. Click Edit next to California.
  5. Enter 11,911 on the page Tax Computed on Your California Return. I pulled this from the Form 540. 
  6. On the screen, Enter California Information, take the amount out of California tax paid on your behalf by an entity. This clears out this amount from needing an adjustment on the NYS return. 
  7. On the same screen, enter 11,911 as the amount of California tax paid by you.