Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Athlete Business Income in multiple states - How do I allocate income & expenses by State?

I am a resident of NY and earned income from competitions in multiple states. I have a sole proprietorship, I file a schedule C. My total income is reduced by my total expenses and nets to only approx $4k. Some expenses are competition-specific and other expenses are overhead. How do I allocate my schedule C for state tax purposes in each state? Some states likely result in a net income that is negative or zero, so do I need to file in those states at all? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

Athlete Business Income in multiple states - How do I allocate income & expenses by State?

You will need to split the income and expenses by state, regardless of profit or loss. Keep in mind, if this is your sole income, it will draw a red flag if you lose money or break even each year. Baseball, basketball and football players file a tax return in each state they play the game

every state is different so the following will not apply in all cases.  if you have a loss in a state it may allow you to use it to offset income in a following year. to be able to use it you need to file a timely return.

Thank you. So if the net income does not meet the threshold for filing in that state, but the gross income does, I should file? Also, I guess I would need to allocate all of the overhead on a state by state basis, correct?

ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

Correct. If you have state specific deductions, they you will have to do a profit/loss calculation for each state as top Tax Expert @ZoltanB45 said. You could not use any type of proration.