Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Bb17
Level 2

I was a part resident in one state, worked and paid state taxes, then moved to a different state with a different job. Why do I owe excessive taxes in my old state?

I was a resident in state A for 6 months. I moved to another state and got a different job. I owe an exorbitant amount of state taxes in my old state even though I technically overpaid in state taxes according to the old state brackets. Not sure where I went wrong. Have never filed part resident before so this is all new to me.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MaryK4
Expert Alumni

I was a part resident in one state, worked and paid state taxes, then moved to a different state with a different job. Why do I owe excessive taxes in my old state?

South Carolina allows you to choose the Resident or Nonresident for the first year that you move into or out of South Carolina so there is no problem if you choose the better outcome (in fact it would be more suspect if you choose to pay more in taxes.) @Bb17 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

9 Replies
MaryK4
Expert Alumni

You will in most cases file a Part Year resident return for each state.  In the state section of TurboTax you will be able to allocate the wages you made in each state so only that income is taxed.  If you have gone through and you are not seeing this, post which states and someone may be able to guide you.  

Bb17
Level 2

I'm filing for MD and SC.

MaryK4
Expert Alumni