Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with filing tax return for an international graduate teaching assistant

I am an international graduate student and I got a teaching assistance from the university. I received a form T4 and T4A. Do I need to add anymore deductions/income in the turbo tax menu options? How can I maximize my return ? I pay rent, medical insurance and have a transit pass. Can someone guide me for the returns ? Also, when I added T2202A form my tax return got less. Is it compulsory for me to add that? (Canadian Tax Return)

1 Reply

Need help with filing tax return for an international graduate teaching assistant

1) " I am an international graduate student and I got a teaching assistance from the university. I received a form T4 and T4A. Do I need to add anymore deductions/income in the turbo tax menu options?"..........Have you checked each and every question to ensure you have answered all the questions correctly to open all the proper forms for you?

2) " How can I maximize my return ? I pay rent, medical insurance and have a transit pass.".......You most definitely can deduct all these, but depending on the province you are in, will determine your rent paid for the year.

Rent is based per province, so when you go through your "Provincial" Tab, you will come across a rent paid entry, depending on the province you are in.

Medical Insurance - see link below:

Can I claim provincial health service payments as a medical expense?https://turbotax.community.intuit.ca/replies/2647924

and if by chance you are from QC here is the link to assist you further:

Québec Medical Expense Tax Credit

Transit Pass - see below:

Where do I enter my public transit pass amounts?