Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

seaTax
Returning Member

Can I elect to be treated as a resident alien rather than a dual status alien?

I am a foreign citizen who moved from US to Canada through inter company transfer in September 2022. I was a tax resident in the US since 2020 and pass the substantial presence test for 2022.

According to IRS (chapter 1 of Pub. 519), I will become a nonresident alien when I leave if I meet both of the following conditions:

1. After leaving and for the remainder of the calendar year of my departure, I have a closer connection to a foreign country than to the United States.
  2. During the next calendar year, I am not a U.S. resident under either the green card test or the substantial presence test, defined earlier.

I satisfied both conditions since I did establish a closer connection with Canada and I know I won't be returning to the US until late 2023, which means:

• January 2022 to September 2022 - I am a resident alien
  • September 2022 to December 2022 - I am a non resident alien

I have US source income from both RA and NRA period so I assume I need to prepare my taxes as a dual status alien for 2022.

My question is: can I elected to be treated as a resident alien to file my taxes, or am I obliged to file my taxes as a dual status alien? And how this decision will affect my next year tax filing as a non resident alien?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
MinhT1
Expert Alumni

As you describe, you are a dual status alien for tax year 2022. The IRS does not give you the possibility to consider yourself as a resident alien for the full year.