Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

No U.S. Credit Card. Unable to Buy TurboTax

I am a long term resident of Japan but a U.S. citizen. This year I would like to purchase the TurboTax software. I used to just file directly with the IRS but they require a US phone number, which I do not have. I was at the checkout for the software, but the billing options is limited to US only. I do not currently posses any US credit cards but have VISA and MC linked to my Japan address. Please advise.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

13 Replies
ToddL99
Expert Alumni

Why is this happening?  It is not a TurboTax limitation. U.S. banks require the card's billing address in order to validate on-line charges, and the databases they use for this purpose do not include foreign addresses (too many possible formats). Also, a great deal of on-line credit card fraud emanates from foreign countries; requiring a valid U.S. billing address reduces the chance that someone overseas is stealing your card number. 

There are a few ways around this limitation.  

If you have a refund coming, you can use it to pay your TurboTax fees - this is a rather expensive option because of the service charge.  

The only other option is to pay for your TurboTax with someone else's U.S. credit card (close relative or close friend), one with a U.S. billing address. The payment process is completely separate from the tax return preparation, so using a card with a different name & address won't be a problem 

Thanks!

If you file with a foreign address, however, then you cannot use the option to pay any TurboTax fees out of the Federal refund.   See this FAQ:

FAQ:  Why can't I deduct my TurboTax fees from my refund?