Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

denmarfl
Returning Member

What Desktop Version of TubroTax do I need?

I have been using a Competitors Desktop Software for over 30 years and think of myself as a Fairly knowledgably Tax Preparer.  TurboTax Customer Service advised I would need Premier Version.  Comparing Deluxe and Premeir versions....seem both include the Same Federal Tax Forms, Premier provides more in software guidance.  Having done my Federal Tax Return with a Competitors Desktop software for over 30 yrs...the Tax Software I purchase needs to provide the forms for Filing I need....I know how to complete them. 

Tax Forms required:

• Both versions include  
    1. Schedule C;  Self Employment
    2. Schedule D; Capital Gains\Losses (Buy Sell Stocks)
    3. Schedule E; Rental Property (Income\Expenses\Depreciation)

Seems the difference between Deluxe and Premier is, again, BOTH include Schedules C, D and E…. Premier provides More in Software guidance/Help. 

I need assistance to purchase the Turbotax Version I need and not Pay more for a Version that will not provide me with any additional Benefits.  

Will TurboTax Deluxe be the version I need based on the facts that I have been filing my Federal Taxes for 30+ years using schedules C, D Capital Gains and E?… Is the Premier version necessary?  Please explain…and if Premier is needed, why?  Wish I could take the Deluxe and Premier for a Test Ride…..I would hate to Buy Deluxe to find it does not meet with my needs and, even hate it worse if I purchased Premier to find out I spent More than I should have for no additional benefit. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
PaulaM
Expert Alumni