Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TurboTax product online registration error

I have been using the turbo tax standard for over 5 years. For tax reporting in 2019, I bought a CD from Cosco and the program was downloaded from the Turbo site, and I entered the serial number of the CD.

As I did every year, I tried to register Turbo Online to update the Turbo program to the latest version. However, strangely, if I enter the required information on the online registration screen and hit enter, the following error will continue to be processed.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

We're sorry,

We're sorry, we have encountered an unforseen error.

Failed to connect to database.

Please try again later.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

What's the problem? I did it the way I did each year, but it's strange. Please let me know. Is there any problem using programs that is not registered online? Can I use my current program to report my taxes? Please tell me how to fix it. I look forward to your kind help.

10 Replies

I have been buying Turbo tax for last 5 year, same error.

However i was able to file my returns using the software

Has anyone got an answer to this problem yet??

Ignoring politeness, this failure in the product registration is a crock.  The error message is useless, and not sure what value registering the product is, especially when buying direct from Turbotax.  I had no other choice as we are self isolating as we just returned from a holiday out of country (Covid 19)

Adrian11