Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TurboTax results in Alberta residents paying too much tax

Case ID# [phone number removed] (You say it is resolved but it is not)

TurboTax 2023 Results in Alberta Residents Paying Unneeded Tax

I am a retired Chartered Professional Accountant who specialized in taxation. I use TurboTax software to prepare tax returns for me and my wife. I wish to point out a deficiency in your 2023 software that results in Alberta residents paying more tax than needed.

Prior to 2023, it was advantageous to claim all charitable donations on one return rather than splitting them up between spouses. This was because the federal and Alberta donation tax credits on the first $200 of donations were lower than for donations above $200. For federal taxes, the credit for the first $200 is 15% and 29% for donations above $200. The credit for Alberta taxes on the first $200 was 10% and 21% for donations over $200.

However, in 2023 that has changed for Alberta residents. The Alberta tax credit on the first $200 of donations was increased to 60% versus 21% for donations over $200. This means an Alberta couple with charitable donations should make sure each person claims at least $200 of donations to minimize their taxes. Having each spouse claim at least $200 of donations will reduce their combined taxes by $50 versus if one of them claims all of the donations. Their Alberta taxes will go down by $78 = $200 x (.60 - .21) while their federal taxes will go up by $28 = $200 x (.15 - .29), for a net tax reduction of $50.