Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
chino

I am a published writer. I write in Canada but books are published in Japan. For each book, publisher deducts 10% for tax paid in Japan. Where can I claim this paid tax?

I tried putting under Foreign Income but then every year I get contacted by CRA telling me it is not the place (although I was told to do so by Turbotax operator) and I have to obtain proof of tax paid in Japan. So much hassle when I am honestly reporting total income and paying sufficient tax.
1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am a published writer. I write in Canada but books are published in Japan. For each book, publisher deducts 10% for tax paid in Japan. Where can I claim this paid tax?

You will need to fill out a T2209 form - Federal Foreign Tax Credit - in the online version of the software you - go under "Deductions" - in the FIND search bar - next tot he HELP button on the right side of the screen - type in -"Foreign Tax Credit" - which will generate the Foreign Taxes form - and it states "If you paid income taxes to a foreign country, you may be able to recover all or a portion of the amount paid. Do you want to determine how much you can recover?"   YES -  this is where you will enter in your Foreign tax paid amounts under the "Foreign employment income" section.

View solution in original post

3 Replies