Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lkelaher

Hi, I am a self employed consultant. Last year my net income was bout $35,000. I seem to be being taxes over $8000 on that amount (before deductions) which seems a lot!

2 Replies

Hi, I am a self employed consultant. Last year my net income was bout $35,000. I seem to be being taxes over $8000 on that amount (before deductions) which seems a lot!

When you are employed by someone else, they will usually take taxes off of each pay cheque. So when you do your income taxes you usually don’t have to pay much extra. When you are self-employed, you often don’t pay taxes though out the year, so you’ll have to pay it all at income tax time.

This is the same story for CPP. If you are self-employed, you must pay your CPP contribution if your income is high enough. This will be added to the amount you have to pay in income tax. https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/tax/businesses/topics/payroll/payroll-deductions-co...

If you elected to Employment Insurance (EI), this will also be included in your income tax bill. https://www.canada.ca/en/services/benefits/ei/ei-self-employed-workers.html

You also may have other income that you are paying taxes on, or some type of repayment which may be adding to your total.

If you’re still not able to figure out where the $8000, go back over your review from the start (or at least the business portion) and make sure you’ve entered all the numbers correctly.