Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
yany

As a new Ontario resident, do I lose all of the provincial carryover tuition, education, and textbook credits that I accumulated while I was an Alberta resident?

In September 2018, I changed provincial residencies from Alberta to Ontario and as a result, I am submitting my taxes for the 2018 season as an Ontario resident. In trying to complete my tax return for the 2018 season, I noticed that because I am submitting as an Ontario resident and I became a resident after December 31, 2017, I am unable to use any of the $40,000 in provincial tuition, education, and textbook amounts that I carried over from previous years while I was an Alberta resident. As a result, I am unable to reduce any of my provincial tax and it appears I will lose any of the benefits of accumulating these credits because I moved to Ontario. 

1.    By becoming an Ontario resident after December 31, 2017, do I lose all of the $40,000 in carryover tuition, education, and textbook amounts that I accumulated while I was an Alberta resident? Is there any option for me to reduce my taxes with these amounts?

2.    I am considering moving back to Alberta one day to be with my family. Would I be able to claim the $40,000 in carryover amounts if I became an Alberta resident in the future? Or, are the amounts lost forever?

3.    My current tax return submission for 2018 (Schedule 11) does not allow me to insert the $40,000 in carryover amounts as unused. Does this mean that in future years (e.g. 2019 tax season), my provincial carryover amounts will be reported as $0 rather than $40,000?