Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Wendy Von-Niessen
Returning Member

Negative Net Self Employment Income at start of entering data

I'm just starting out. Once my Tax slips were entered it showed an income summary of where all my income is coming from. I have done nothing else with it but it is showing a NEGATIVE Net Self Employment income of -$30,983.48.  How can this be when I haven't entered anything for my Self Employment Income yet.  This happened to me last year as well and I managed to delete the amount as I thought it was a glitch in the program.  But now I am thinking that perhaps there is a reason but I cannot find it out.

Last year I was using the CD version but this year am doing the online version.  I find the help for the online version very limited compared to the CD version I had. 

This year I started out using the Standard version as I want to see what my return would be without my Self-Employment.

11 Replies

Please contact our phone support team at 1-888-829-8608 as they will be better able to assist you.

Wendy Von-Niessen
Returning Member