Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
giannou

Uber Eats and HST

Hey guys. 

I am a new Uber Eats Driver and have registered for an HST Number voluntarily.

Does anyone know if Uber Eats includes what they charge the customer for HST in the fare we collect on our phones ,or will they send me the HST payments at a later date?

Is the fare we get the same as it would be if we were not registered for HST? Basically I want to know if I screwed myself by registering for an HST number when I didnt have to. 

I've tried to ask Uber about this and they are useless. 

Any help is appreciated. 

Thanks!

4 Replies
Jeffuuright
Employee Tax Expert

Uber Eats and HST

In principle the GST/HST is intended to be neutral to most registrants. (A registrant is one who is registered for GST/HST).

Unfortunately TurboTax is unable to comment on the specific mechanics of Uber Eats payments to drivers. However, the general GST/HST timing rule is: essentially, the tax is collectible by a registrant at the time a taxable service is provided, not later. 

Regarding GST/HST on some expenses incurred in the course of providing a delivery service: a non-registrant can claim the GST/HST incurred as an expense for income tax purposes, which is less advantageous than the full GST/HST recovery that a registrant gets from claiming an input tax credit.

larryanta
Returning Member

Uber Eats and HST