Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

• Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where do you enter Contractor Costs

I am a self employed surveyor and I have to enter sub-contractor costs.

TurboTax indicates NOT to enter this in 'wages & salaries'. It says to enter it in the 'Cost of Goods Sold'. Well I can't get to this section to save my life!

in the Business Summary at the end of the Business/Professional Activities section, I see a tally for it. But there's no way to access it. I tried help, I tried Google.

The closest I can get is people talking about it being at the end of an 'Inventory' section.

Well I can't find access to this either!!!!

There' no preliminary summary section or profile for 'Professional Income' or I would assume that I missed selecting an 'inventory' section.

Are there not tens of thousands of people that DON'T sell goods - but provide professional services and require the help of sub-contractors?

HOW DO YOU ACCESS THIS?

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

You need to delete all of the information in the T2125 for self employment - professional income, and answer the question as yes for "other" self-employment.  This will bring up the section for retail, cost of goods, and inventory.

In my humble opinion, however, I would suggest adding it under Other expenses in the T2125 that you have.  It isn't necessarily appropriate under cost of goods.

View solution in original post

6 Replies

You need to delete all of the information in the T2125 for self employment - professional income, and answer the question as yes for "other" self-employment.  This will bring up the section for retail, cost of goods, and inventory.